Guides @ UF: Drug Information Resources: Databases

Free Mobile apps & resources

There are many more websites or apps out there. These are just the tip of the iceberg. Unless I said there is a charge these are all free. Some are the lite version of a product that is available

There is a Cisco Anyconnect VPN App available through the App Store. Go to http://net-services.ufl.edu/provided_services/vpn/anyconnect/install.html#iphone for instructions on getting this app and setting up the VPN on your iTouch or iPhone./ They don't have instructions set up for Droids yet.

1. PubMed for Handhelds and Mobile phones: http://pubmedhh.nlm.nih.gov/

(This version is not linked to our holdings)

2. AccessPharmacy: After you have created a MyAccessPharmacy login and password, go to http://www.Accesspharmacy,com. It will recognize that you

are on a handheld and will ask you to log in using your MyAccessPharmacy login. It is not the full database, but does include the drug information and Dipiros.

3. AIDSinfor for mobile phones from NIH: http://m.aidsinfo.nih.gov/ . Includes a glossary, information on AIDS drugs for professionals, patients and in Spanish.

4.. MDConsult Mobile: http://m.mdconsult.com (This is a web based product not an app)

Instructions:

1. Go to http:// www.mdconsult.com from a computer within your institution.

2. Click on Create an Account on the top right.

3. Complete the registration form and create a unique username and password. Then, click on

Continue to submit your information.

4. Logout of MD Consult.

5. Using the web browser on your mobile device, go to MD Consult Mobile (http://m.mdconsult.com). Login to MD Consult Mobile from your mobile browser using your new personal login.

5. Micromedex Mobile

For instructions: click on the word Mobile that is to the right of "MICHROMEDEX 2.0

Free mobile app available through the iTunes App store is available to UF students, faculty and staff since we subscribe.

Free mobile drug interactions app available through the iTunes App store.

Follow the directions on the website.

There is web access available for Blackberry and Androids

6. Free iphone/iTouch apps

Medscape.com ( if you are a registered user

Epocrates ( free version)

Johns Hopkins ABX Vaccines ( There is a charge for the mobile version of full Johns Hopkins ABX database)

PubMed on Tap Lite - free

full version $2.99

Searches PubMed & will link to the full text if we subscribe and you have the VPN turned on.

Other Resources

Institute for Safe Medication Practices: ISMP
Tools to prevent medication errors
Textbook and dosage book errata
National Drug Code Directory
Orange Book
Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
Pillbox (beta)
Pill identification tool from the National Library of Medicine. It is still in beta. Provides links to other NIH sources for drug information and official labelling.
Drug Schedules ( Controlled Substances)
From the US Dept of Justice, DEA

Online Drug Monographs

For more information about these and other databases go to Databases . Our subscriptions appear first in this list. These lists are not complete. For more resources go to the lists in the additional sources box. They also do not include Lexicomp and Drug Facts which are available for pharmacy students, staff and faculty through the College. If you need help finding these two databases contact the Student Affairs office or check My.Cop..

Clinical Pharmacology
Full monographs and "mini" monographs. Includes utilities for drug interactions, product identification & patient information

MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window
Full text Drug Reference materials including Martindales, Drugdex, and Identidex and dosing tools.
Years: Current
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
Full text of textbooks including AHFS Drug Information®, Davis' Drug Guide for Nurses, and Contains ACP Piers ( Evidence Based Practice resource) that is linked to AHFS Drug Essentials. Also has calculation tools and medical dictionaries.
Years: Current

LactMed
Peer reviewed full text database on chemicals and drugs on lactating mothers including drug levels in breast milk and in breastfed infants. It includes levels found in these infants and possible effects. Alternative drugs are listed.
more...less...
US Government database so access is free to all.
Drugs@FDA
licensing history, labeling information, therapeutic equivalency
DailyMed: Current Medication Information
Officiial Drug Labels of over 18003 drugs

Databases: Search the literature

For more information about these and additional databases go to Databases .

Clinicaltrials.gov
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Database of citations for randomized controlled trials.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Full text systematic reviews of RCTs by the Cochrane Collaboration.

DARE: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
One of the Cochrane Databases. This database evaluates systematic reviews.
Drug Information Portal
Allows you to cross search multiple U.S. Government resources for drug information. Links to PubMed, DailyMed, FDA site, MedlinePlus, Clinical Trials, Toxline and LactMed just to name a few.
PubMed
Subject: Indexes biomedical journal literature including pharmacy, pharmacology, toxicology, and the preclinical sciences.
more...less...
Formats: Journal Articles
Years: 1940s to present

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Preclinical research and patents

Herbal & Natural Products

UF and websites with information on herbal and natural products. Remember the drug databases also contain information on herbals. COP students - The Drug Facts & Comparisons and Lexicomp databases contain information on herbal products as do the other drug databases ( Clinical Pharmacology Online and Micromedex)

Natural medicines
Covers herbals along with wellness topics, alternative therapies, sports medicine and genetics.
Provided as a cooperative effort between the HSC Library and the College of Pharmacy
MedlinePlus Herbal Information
Consumer health herbal information
Dietary Supplements: Database of Official Labels
Includes official labels for supplements including herbal products.
Office of Dietary Supplements: PubMed Subset
Subset of PubMed for searching the literature on dietary supplements.

Subject Guide

Lauren Adkins

Email Me

Contact:

Health Science Center Libraries
PO Box 100206
Gainesville, FL
32610

352-273-8444

Subjects: Medicine, Pharmacy

Additional Sources

There are two documents. One contains databases to which UF subscribes and the 2nd one is a list of free websites that you might find useful after you graduate, including ones that contain free full text journal articles.

You need to double check the commercial drug information sites for their authoritativeness and currency. Check with your instructor for the acceptability of the .com sites before using for an assignment.

Databases
List of databases available through the UF HSC Library that may be useful in pharmacy research. It does include PubMed, which is a free website.
Free Websites
Free websites that you may find useful. Includes sites that are not specifically for drug information in alpha order. It includes free databases as well as websites that have free full text. Double check the drug information sites for the authoritativeness & reliability. Check with your professor for acceptability for coursework.