Skip to main content

JRNL - Journal Retention and Needs Listing: Imports

Describes the use and operation of JRNL

Description

There are four possible imports that can be performed within the JRNL tool

  • Bibliographic
  • Archive Status
  • Holdings
  • Gap Records.

How it looks

Importing into JRNL requires data to be saved in a .CSV (comma delimited) file.

To make importing easy, the JRNL tool supplies a template for each import available.

Once an import is complete, JRNL will display the data that was succefully imported as well as any errors. The errors can then be exported into an excel file and saved to your machine for further investigation.

Bibliographic Data

1. Download the CSV template and populate with data. Refer to the tab 'Getting your data ready to upload' for more detail on how to clean up and prepare data.

2. Enter the source package for the imported titles if available (optional). This is a free text field that allows users to note where a title originated from. Examples may be JSTOR, SAGE, WILEY, etc. Keep in mind that when adding the source package, the text will be added to each title included in the CSV file. If you want to note more than one source package, you will need to upload a file for each different source.

3. Choose your file to import. Click the browse button and select the CSV file with the stored bibliographic data. Once selected, click import file.

Archive Status

The Archive Status import is used to distinguish whether you have selected a title to be retained or discarded at your institution.

1. Download the CSV template and populate with data. Refer to the tab 'Getting your data ready to upload' for more detail on how to clean up and prepare data.

2. Choose the Print Serial Archiving Program (PSAP) for the archive decisions from the drop down menu.

3. Choose your file to import. Click the browse button and select the CSV file with the stored Archive Status data. Once selected, click import file.

Holdings

A Title (OCLC) may only have one Holdings record in each Location.
If your upload contains a Holdings record that already exists, your new record will be saved and the old record will be overwritten.

1. Download the CSV template and populate with data. Refer to the tab 'Getting your data ready to upload' for more detail on how to clean up and prepare data.

2. Choose the Location where the imported records will be held. Only locations for your institution will show in the drop down menu.

3. Choose your file to import. Click the browse button and select the CSV file with the stored Holdings data. Once selected, click import file.

Gap Records

The Gap Records import allows users to display information in JRNL about specific gaps that are needed at their institution.

1. Download the CSV template and populate with data. Refer to the tab 'Getting your data ready to upload' for more detail on how to clean up and prepare data.

2. Choose the Location where the imported records will be held. Only locations for your institution will show in the drop down menu.

3. Choose your file to import. Click the browse button and select the CSV file with the stored Gap Records data. Once selected, click import file.

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.