Skip to main content

Library Faculty Assembly: Home

The UF Library Faculty Assembly (LFA) is the official faculty body for College Level Shared Governance, serving all faculty librarians at the University of Florida. This Guide replaces the website at

2015-2016 LFA Elections Results

Below is a summary of the LFA election results for the election held in April 2015 and announced at the April 20, 2015 LFA meeting

  • Sara Russell Gonzalez is elected as the LFA Chair 
  • April Hines is elected as LFA Secretary
  • Hikaru Nakano is appointed to the Sabbatical/FEO Committee
  • Colleen Seale and Christopher Vallandingham are appointed to the T&P Joint Committee
  • Nancy Schaefer is appointed to the Sustained Performance/SPEP Committee
  • Jana Ronan, Michele Tennant, and Maggie Ansell are appointed to the Career Development Handbook Committee


About LFA

Faculty Governance at the University of Florida Libraries

Since its formation in 2006, the UF Library Faculty Assembly (LFA) is the official faculty body for College Level Shared Governance in the University Libraries and serves all faculty librarians at the University of Florida. Progress and status of shared governance in the colleges is monitored by the UF Faculty Senate Chair (see 2011 report).

Included in our membership are all librarians in the George A. Smathers Libraries (all campus branches including the Health Science Center Libraries and The Borland Library in Jacksonville) as well as the Lawton Chiles Legal Information Center at the Fredric G. Levin College of Law. Until July 1, 2012 we also include among our members all librarians at the Florida Center for Library Automation (FCLA).

LFA meetings

Meetings are generally held the 3rd Monday of each month at 10:00 AM in Library East Room 100. Executive Council generally meets on the 1st Monday of each month in Library East conference room.

2014-2015 LFA Officers

Chelsea Dinsmore, Chair, (352) 273-0369

Melody Royster, Secretary, (352) 273-2661

Past Chair-vacant

Cathy Martyniak, Chair Elect, (352) 273-2832

Send a Message to All Officers

Roles and Responsibilities of LFA Officers

Here is a brief summary of the LFA Officer’s roles and responsibilities. Additional information is available within Article IV, Section 2 of the Libraries Faculty Assembly’s By-Laws.

Chair: Runs LFA meetings, works with members of the Executive Council to set agenda, represents Assembly at meetings, serves as liaison to administration, and fulfills appointments for committees. Time requirement is approximately 8-9 hours per month.    

Chair-Elect: Attends Executive Council & LFA meetings, learns the role of Chair, attends meeting with Chair (at Chair’s discretion), and serves as LFA back-up. Time requirement is approximately 8 hours per month

Past Chair: Serves as the Chair of the Nominations Task Force, attends Executive Council & LFA meetings, serves as liaison to University Libraries Committee (ULC), and other responsibility assigned by current Chair. Time requirement is approximately 8 hours per month

Secretary: Attends Executive Council & LFA meetings, takes minutes at LFA meetings, and maintains online guide. Time requirement is approximately 5 hours per month.  

2015-16 LFA Chair

Cathy Martyniak
Digital Asset Manager
Special and Area Studies Collections
352 273 2832
University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.