Skip to Main Content

Library Faculty Assembly: Faculty Bylaws and Guidelines Committee

The UF Library Faculty Assembly (LFA) is the official faculty body for College Level Shared Governance, serving all faculty librarians at the University of Florida. This Guide replaces the website at

Last Updated

Review of Faculty Bylaws and Guidelines 2022

This process governed by Article 9, UFF-UF CBA, 2021-2021. Faculty Bylaws were last updated, July 15, 2020 and the Faculty Guidelines were updated, May 2021 (not subject to tenure home votes). 

  • Each tenure home will need to schedule and vote on the changes in the Bylaws according to Article 9.2.b of the UFF-UF-CBA. Please review the documents below. 
  • Public Notice of scheduled meetings for UF Libraries tenure home votes on LFA bylaws
    • Marston Science Library: November 15th, 2022, 3:00pm - 4:00pm Faculty Meeting
    • Health Science Center Libraries: November 18th, 2022, 1:00pm -2:30pm Faculty Meeting
    • TSS Tenure Home: November 8, 2022, 12:00pm - 12:30pm
    • Library West Tenure Home: November 9th, 4pm

Faculty Bylaws and Guidelines Committee

Committee Membership 2022-2023:

Laura Spears (2023-2025, Chair)

Stacey Ewing (2023-2025)

Chelsea Dinsmore (2023-2025)

Borui Zhang (2022-2024)

Lily Pang (2023-2025) 

Ben Walker (Ex officio)

Lily Lewis (LHR Representative)



Career Development Handbook Updates: 

Libraries Bylaws - Adopted July 15, 2020

Click here to view the Libraries Bylaws in our Institutional Repository

Faculty Guidelines - Effective May 2021

Click here to view the Faculty Guidelines in our Institutional Repository

Faculty Bylaws and Guidelines Committee

Faculty Bylaws and Guidelines Committee

Per the LFA Standing Rules

Responsibilities: The Faculty Bylaws and Guidelines Committee is charged with developing and maintaining policies on faculty recruitment, evaluation, promotion, tenure, sabbatical/professional development leaves, mentoring and professional development; to develop and maintain the Career Development Handbook and other professional development guidelines and resources for faculty; and to ensure that library faculty career development policies and practices best serve the faculty and conform to relevant university rules and relevant UFF-UF rules for in unit faculty.

Appointment: This Committee is an annual assignment but continues from year to year. Members will be appointed by the Assembly Chair in consultation with the other Officers at the Assembly Officers planning meeting. Membership should include 2-3 past Chairs (or past members) from the Tenure and Promotion Committee, the Sabbatical Committee and/or the Sustained Performance Evaluation Process Committee who would be responsible for maintaining faculty career development resources. All members would be responsible for career development policy and practice matters.  Professional staff from the Library Human Resource Office may serve as advisory members.

Chair: The Chair will be elected by the committee at their first meeting following the Assembly Officers planning meeting.

Meetings: The Committee and Committee members shall be charged immediately after the Assembly Officers planning meeting and will meet when requested to do so by the Committee Chair.

Term: Committee members shall serve two year staggered terms. If a Committee member resigns, a replacement member shall be appointed by the Assembly Chair in consultation with the other Officers to serve out the member’s term.

Quorum: A quorum shall consist of a simple majority of the Committee members.

Last Updated

Last updated: 11/29/2023 - sre

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.