Guides @ UF: Environmental & Global Health: Global Health

Websites

Enviro Rights Map
User-friendly map on substantive and procedural environmental rights and environmental policy. Explore the map or filter by right (e.g., procedural or public policy) and location (e.g., Latin America and the Caribbean or North America). Each pinpoint on the map pulls up a legal principle or statement of law. Compare and contrast the ways different entities approach environmental law and different ways the relationship between humans and nature is viewed. The Resources page links to external tools and materials that expand on environmental law and human rights. (Description adapted from U Wisconsin's Internet Scout Report 4-16-21.)

Global Health Videos

David E. Barmes Global Health Lecture: Global Health in a Changing World; Science Knows No Country
1 hr lecture on infectious and tropic disease work in many countries, along with successes in global health over the past decades. Discusses current health and vaccination challenges and details impacts of climate change on human health today and in the future.

Other statistical sources

Petersen-Kaisuer Health System Dashboard
Colored graphs of various health metrics under these categories:
1) health & wellbeing
2) access & affordability
3) quality of care
4) health spending.
Individual graphs examples: life expectancy, insurance status, usual source of care
World Health Organization Global Health Observatory data
OECD Data Portal
Data on health care use, health equipment, health resources (including spending and personnel), health risks (including OECD health policy studies) and health status

Databases

Ebsco - Index Islamicus (not specifically health), Peace Research, Public Administration Abstracts, Race Relations Abstracts, Sociological Collection, Women's Studies International, FRANCIS (Instit de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique), Anthropological Index, Chicano database, Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies.

ProQuest - PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International, Sociological Abstracts.

Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets from the US Dept of State

CIA World Fact Book - Demographic, economic, geographical data and general information on the structure and names of political leaders

Country Reports - commercial provider of information on countries

Country Studies Handbook

Digital Library of the Caribbean

African Journals Online (not health-specific)

LILACS - Latin American and Caribbean bibliographic database

PAHO Bibliographic Databases and PAHO Statistical Databases

US AID Global Health

WHO library collection - World Health Organization

WHOSIS - World Health Organization Statistical Information System - data and statistics

World Bank - population, GNI, life expectancy and other statistics

Online Exhibit

Making a World of Difference: Stories About Global Health
Online exhibit mounted by the National Library of Medicine and last update 2/9/21

Global Health Database

Search tools

World Bank Country by Income Category search hedge
This Word document provides strings of MeSH (PubMed subject heading) and keyword terms that can be adapted to systematic/scoping reviews and meta-analysis comprehensive searches of bibliographic/library databases. They are organized by World Bank Income Categories as of February 2016.

Cochrane's LMIC search filters
Search filters based on the 2019 World Bank list of countries (low-income, lower-middle-income or upper-middle-income economies)
Achieving an equitable transition to open access for researchers in lower and middle-income countries
2020 White Paper from International Center for the Study of Research in collaboration with the STM Association. Downloadable 4.3 MB article.

Electronic Books on International and Global Health

Foundations of Global Health & Human Rights
Lawrence Ogalthorpe Gostin, Benjamin Mason Meier. Oxford University Press, 2020.
Global Health: Diseases, Programs, Systems and Policies.
Michael H. Merson, Robert E. Black, Anne Mills, Eds. Jones & Bartlett Learning, 2020.
Global Health Economics: Shaping Health Policy In Low- And Middle-Income Countries
Paul Revill, Marc Suhrcke, Rodrigo Moreno-Serra, Mark Sculpher and Maria Goddard. World Scientific, 2020.
Global Health Governance and Policy: An Introduction
Eduardo Missoni, Guglielmo Pacileo, Fabrizio Tediosi.Routledge, 2019.
Health Norms and the Governance of Global Development: The Invention of Global Health
Anders Granmo, Pieter Fourie. Routledge, 2021.
International Regimes in Global Health Governance
Jiyong Jin. Routledge, 2021.
Leveraging Data Science for Global Health
Springer, 2020.
Managing the Global Health Response to Epidemics: Social Science Perspectives
Mathilde Bourrier, Nathalie Brender, Claudine Burton-Jeangros. Routledge, 2019.
Oxford Textbook of Global Health of Women, Newborns, Children, and Adolescents.
Delan Devakumar, Jennifer Hall, Zeshan Qureshi, Joy Lawn, Eds. Oxford University Press, 2019.
Statistical Methods for Global Health and Epidemiology Principles, Methods and Applications.
Xinguang Chen, Ding-Geng Chen. Springer, 2020.
The uncounted : politics of data in global health
Sara Leila Margaret Davis. Cambridge University Press, 2020.
The World Health Organization: A History
Marcos Cueto, Brown, Theodore M. Brown, Elizabeth Fee. Cambridge University Press, 2019.

Other Resources for Global Health

Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation'
Massive data collection on Global Burden of Disease including the original search tool GBDx and the revised tool GBD Compare with visualizations at VizHub, the original .
Health Information for Developing Countries
From University of Washington
Finding Articles/Books
From University of Washington's Health Science Library, so links and info on access may differ from what's available here at UF.
Miscellaneous
Glossary of terms, links to programs, useful reference materials and organizations.
HINARI
Links to journals, tutorials and other health information resources for resource-limited nations.
John Hopkins SPH: Urban Health in Developing Countries
Free online course taught by 2 senior profs at the Dept. International Health. Covers "demography, epidemiology, changes in urban physical and social environment and their health consequences, nutritional issues, inadequacy of conventional health services and design/implementation of coordinated and cost-effective health care system". Lecture slides, readings, assignments used to teach course Spring 2009.And recorded lectures from some guest lecturers.
OECD Health Statistics 2016
Extensive data about health around the globe.Explore the data in full through a link to the complete 2016 health database, including information on life expectancy rates, infant health data, rates of cancer, and data about perceived health status by gender and socio-economic background. OR explore a number of more specific datasets, from Health Expenditure and Financing to Health Care Quality Indicators. Also an abridged - although extensive - report of key data points, which visitors can download as an easily navigable Microsoft Excel spreadsheet.
Deforestation associated with changes in disease dynamics
Article from The Scientist January 29, 2019
2021 Global Health Briefing Book
From the Global Health Council
EcoAmericas
Monthly report of development and environment in Latin America

LIterature of potential interest

Subject Guide

Courtney Pyche

Email Me

Contact:

352-273-9878

Subjects: Public Health & Health Professions