Food, drink, and the like are the number one source for pests in a library environment as well as one of the top sources for book damage that cannot be remediated. It is important to understand that even the smallest amount of food can lead to a large pest infestation. While students are allowed certain foods (see below), it is up to the employee to maintain a stricter code of conduct for themselves, educate patrons about what they can and cannot have in the library spaces, and make sure that all acceptable food items for patrons are properly disposed of.
Employees and student employees should not eat, smoke, and/or vape around books or paper. This includes eating candy and chewing gum. Students are allowed to eat and drink in our circulation libraries, but the food should not be messy or smelly. It should be packaged food and candy. Drinks should have lids. Hot/heated meals on plates are not acceptable in the libraries. Students are not allowed to smoke and/or vape.
Employees should not keep, make, or eat their lunches and/or snacks at their desks or in their offices if collection items are regularly on their desk or in their offices. Foods should only be kept and consumed in break rooms away from collection items. Bagged, fully sealed items can be stored in offices, but not opened and/or consumed. Employees who regularly eat in their offices should make their offices available for regular cleaning by facilities. Remember that hands should always be washed after handling and eating food and before touching collection items.
Anyone bringing snacks, like baked goods, for their teams should not leave these foods out in areas that occasionally have collection items in them. Again, these communal snacks should be placed in break rooms for people to snack on as desired. If the library branch does not have a break room that separates food and collection items, create a space somewhere in a communal area that is only for food and not for collection items. This communal area should be near a place where employees can wash their hands before and after food consumption. Again, preservation can help sort out issues of this nature.
Water bottles can be used around library materials, but they should be kept on the floor or away from the materials as much as possible. These bottles should have a secure cap that avoids spilling and be fully closed most of the time. Bottles and cups with straws on the top can spill and should only be kept away from books and/or on the floor. Avoid any containers that cause condensation on the outside of the bottle. Only make drinks in break rooms--keep all drink making machinery in break rooms.
Dispose of food-related waste promptly and properly.
Garbage containers in areas where students are studying should be changed out regularly due to food-related waste.
Employees should discard food packaging and/or waste in break room garbage cans only. Avoid throwing food-related packaging and waste anywhere else in employee areas, including in or near restrooms. This includes any drink containers.
Conference rooms should have their waste bins cleaned out immediately after a library event involving food.
Sinks and counters in break rooms should not be filled with food waste or left messy. Please clean up after yourself and regularly dispose of food waste from the sink into garbage containers after use.
Items stored or left in refrigerators can attract pests as they do not fully seal off certain smells. Refrigerators should be emptied of most food items every weekend. Condiments and other highly preserved and bottled containers can stay longer, but refrigerators should be regularly cleaned out of these as well every couple of months.
|
