Copy of Preservation Guidelines for Circulating Branch Libraries

Preservation and library facilities should be present at the onset of any planning concerning renovation and/or construction.  These employees can ensure from the beginning that

• collection materials are not damaged during the renovation,
• collection materials and areas are properly monitored for any issues during construction projects,
• collection storage is optimally placed as part of any renovation work.

Pollutants caused during renovation can range from wood sawdust to volatile organic compounds in paint.  Each different pollutant can cause either mild or significant damage to collections and should be prevented.  Again, preservation and facilities staff should be able to discuss this with construction personnel during the planning stages as well as able to monitor the construction environment during the process.

Before any building renovation or remodeling projects are begun, work with preservation and facilities to identify ways of preventing pollutant exposure to occupants and library materials.  This includes meetings between construction personnel and preservation staff prior to starting construction.  Preservation staff as well as on-site employees should receive the support they need to ensure that construction personnel are adhering to the preservation requirements set forth during preparation meetings.

During meetings discuss with construction staff the following:

• Any closures of the HVAC systems and for how long.  Make sure that temporary HVAC systems are in place and air circulation is maintained if not increased during the renovation event.
• Fully sealed dust walls set up.  These can be of plastic and/or other materials, but they should be fully sealed or have an intermediary, dust-catching space between the construction and everywhere else.  Additional plastic over shelving should be discussed along with extra HVAC and airflow sources to prevent stagnant air under and around plastic sheeting.
• Vibration damage.  This may include the removal of sensitive collection items and/or nearby exhibits.  Selective times when machinery that causes heavy vibrations is in use may also need to be discussed during the planning stages.
• Lighting and heat exposure for employees and collections.  Increased lighting for construction staff should not be directly illuminating collections nor infringe on the well-being of employees.
• Personal protective equipment for staff should be available as needed.  Library staff should follow all OSHA guidelines for safety in construction areas.

Notify preservation and your building/facility manager immediately if you suspect any indoor air quality problem, especially if it relates to construction and/or renovation.

If you are noticing a high degree of dust or fumigants caused by construction, check windows and door seals and close any doors between staff and collection items if possible.  If not possible, consult your supervisor and contact preservation and library facilities as needed.

Facilities and preservation should be involved in any preparatory planning of renovation, especially when it includes moving collection shelving.

Collection shelving and areas should be located where there is the most airflow occurring in the space and perpendicular to any direct lighting such as windows.  Should the ideal space not be found, conversations about shifting HVAC airways or ventilation grating can occur that can mitigate any issues with spatial arrangements.