In general, plants and miniature water features play a major role in two integrated pest management issues. The first is they attract pests. Whether the attraction is food or shelter-based, plants are prime spots for bugs and other pests to gather. The second is the added requirement of water, which can cause relative humidity to rise as well as attracting water-searching pests like cockroaches. Especially in Florida, mold is a constant issue in and around plants and miniature water features.
Plants can be kept in offices and rooms that do not regularly or irregularly have collection items. These plants should be properly maintained at all times. Regular pest and mold checks should happen at least once a month and the plant cleaned and re-potted if either issue shows up. Refrain from having any water features in offices.
Plants should not live in offices or spaces where collection items are found at any time. Even in situations where the room is shared with separate cubicles, plants should not be in any cubicle space if another cubicle contains collection items on a regular basis. If collection items are only in the office irregularly--once a semester or the like--plants can live in an office and/or space. In that instance, they should be kept on a surface away from collection items at all times. Watering plants around collection items is not acceptable and no misting of water should occur. Cleaning of leaves can only be done with a damp cloth. Again, avoid all water features in office/cubicle spaces.
Regularly check for mold and pests and if either shows up, the plant must be cleaned of the pests and re-potted. Contact conservation if a plant around collection items is found to contain mold and pests.
In general, plants and water features are not allowed in collection spaces. Marston Science Library's botanical specimens are the only exception. These need to be carefully maintained and checked monthly for mold and pests. Watering should never include the misting of the surface of plants. If the plants need to be dusted, a damp cloth is the only acceptable method. If these plants are found to have mold/pest problems, they are to be thoroughly cleaned, re-potted, and preservation needs to be contacted.
Plants should not be placed where books are checked in or out. The Marston Library main desk should have plants in the areas where collection items are least likely to trade hands between employees and researchers. Information desks can contain plants if they also do not include collection items.
Plants should not be checked out as study buddies or used as break times for students during midterms, finals, etc. Specialized study programs involving organic material or anything resembling a water feature should be discussed with preservation first.
|
