Copy of Preservation Guidelines for Circulating Branch Libraries

Leaks can happen for a variety of reasons--from pipes to roofing issues and more--and range from small to whole floor disasters.  Immediately send in a Grover to facilities about any leak and include the direct supervisor and/or curator over that collection as well as the preservation librarian in that Grover--especially if the leak is causing damage to any collection item. 

If a leak is causing collection damage:

• Immediately close off the area to any patrons.
• Put up plastic on the shelving area to prevent further damage to collections.
• Contact conservation immediately for assistance.  They will come, assess damage, and assist in the clean-up. 
• While waiting for conservation, employees can go ahead and start pulling collection items from the affected area--making sure that wet items are kept separate from any items that might remain dry.

Again, items should never be stored on the top shelf of stacks as they are more likely to get the brunt of any ceiling leak.  When an item is being used and/or stored temporarily elsewhere, they should be fully protected from potential leaks by keeping them on shelves and/or covering items in plastic overnight as needed.

A disaster is much bigger or longer than a single-day leak.  It is important to follow the UF Libraries Disaster Plan in case of a large water event that has damaged buildings, large swaths of collections, etc.

After a significant weather event (including heavy rainstorms), building managers should walk through their entire libraries to assess if there was any damage to buildings and/or collections.  Contact facilities and conservation as needed.

Before a known significant weather event, prepare your space by returning any collection item to stacks areas and/or closed cabinets.  Special collection items, in particular, should be returned to secure stacks or placed on carts in secure stacks as needed.  Further prepare your space by covering all computers, tables, tools, etc. with plastic. 

Hurricanes are extreme wind incidents so anything not secured down will be blown about and damaged near windows that may break during the storm.  Items, desks, etc. need to be moved away from windows and secured in place.  Collection items should never be kept near windows, but if there is no choice the windows should be covered and secured, and collection items should be placed elsewhere or kept in storage bins secured to secure shelving.

After any disaster event, communicate with facilities, the preservation librarian, and conservation as needed.