Guides @ UF: FLORIDA HISTORY RESOURCES: British Colonial Period: Introduction

British Colonial Empire and Florida

An introduction to basic databases, online books and texts, and some of our own manuscripts that are online pertaining to the British development of East and West Florida.

British Colonial Papers (National Archives, Kew)

The British National Archives, Kew

The colonial papers pertaining to British North America are held in the British National Archives. UF Libraries has a microfilm set of the papers relevant to East and West Florida, which is kept in the P.K. Yonge Library of Florida History. The papers are also available to UF students, on a limited trial basis, through the online archive "Colonial America" created and hosted by Adam Matthew.

Colonial America
This database contains digitized versions of 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the administration of the British colonies in America from 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period. You must log-in to the UF Library system to use this database remotely (from home computer). It is listed and can be accessed through the "A-Z" list of available databases under "C" (click on link above. UF has access to most of the database). Made available through Adam Matthew Digital.

Historical Background

The British ruled over Florida for 20 years (1763 to 1783), until forced by treaty to surrender the colony and evacuate (1784-1785). During this time, English was the predominant language of administration. The British divided Florida into two separate colonies for ease of governance: East Florida with its capital at St. Augustine, and West Florida with its capital at Pensacola. West Florida proved difficult to develop, although it included towns such as Mobile and Natchez. Initially, under the governorship of James Grant, East Florida saw a great deal of investment and an influx of settlers. Large plantations based on slave labor were established, growing crops of sugar cane, rice, and indigo.

During the American Revolution, both East and West Florida remained loyal to Britain, and many Loyalists from other colonies relocated there as fortunes went against them in the Thirteen Colonies. In 1779, Spain invaded West Florida and took control of the colony by 1781. Two years later, with Britain having little interest in holding onto Florida, territory was transferred back to Spain in the Treaty of Paris. Spain would remain in control of Florida until 1821.

British National Archives

Records of the British Colonial Office, Class 5 by Randolph Boehm
Call Number: JV1016 .G83 1981
ISBN: 0890934169
Publication Date: 1981-1984
Records on microfilm of British administration and correspondence related to the colonies in North America, formerly archived at the Public Records Office, now in the British National Archives, Kew.

The Florida sections are also available on microfilm in the P.K. Yonge Library of Florida History (Special & Area Studies Collections)

Summary of the Holdings on Florida in CO 5, the British colonial record on North America

Guide to the materials for American history to 1783 in the Public Records office of Great Britain. Vols. 1-2 by Charles M. Andrews
Call Number: F016 A565gu
Publication Date: 1912-1914
Also available online through the Hathi Trust.

Section of the above Guide for East and West Florida
Identifies the major sections of CO 5 that hold the official government papers and correspondence for East and West Florida, identified by section number, with brief explanations of content.