Finding Guide to the James Patton Anderson Family Papers
The James Patton Anderson Papers at the George A. Smathers Library, University of Florida, provide extensive coverage of Anderson’s career as a planter in Florida, his service with the Army of Tennessee during the Civil War, conditions within Florida during the final year of the war, and the fate of the Anderson family and the families of other Confederates in the post war years. Included in the papers is correspondence by Gen J. Patton Anderson, his wife Henrietta (Etta), his wife’s aunt Ellen Adair White Beatty, and friends of the family, including Gen. Braxton Bragg and Confederate president Jefferson Davis, among others.
Finding Guide to the Stephens Family Papers, 1850-1930. 6 ln/ft.
Correspondence, diaries and accounts of Winston J.T. Stephens, plantation owner, militia officer, and Confederate army officer; his wife, Octavia Bryant Stephens (1841-1908); and other family members including Henry H. Bryant (1847-1930), Davis H. Bryant (1839-1913), and William A. Bryant (1837-1881). Topics include the Civil War in Florida, military service, the Battle of Olustee, plantation life, slavery, and conditions along the St. Johns River during the mid-19th century. Gift of Winston B. Stephens, Jr., of Riviera Beach, Fla.; Mrs. Cordelia Bryant McIlwain of Temple Terrace, Fla.; and Mr. William B. Parker of New York, N.Y.
Finding Guide to the Samuel Ashe Swann Papers, 1850-1914. 30 ln/ft.
Real estate speculator, developer, and entrepreneur. ledgers and letterbooks and correspondence relating to Swann's activities. Born in North Carolina; educated in Wilmington, Delaware. Moved to Fernandina in 1855 as treasurer of the Florida Railroad (Fernandina to Cedar Key). In Fernandina, he became associated with David Levy Yulee, Joseph Finegan, and George W. Call, Jr. and others involved with both railroads and land transactions. During the Civil War, he moved to Gainesville, but returned to Fernandina after the war. Land agent for the Trustees of the Internal Improvement Fund; agent for the Florida Land and Immigration Company and the Florida Town Improvement Company in selling swamp and overflowed lands. Gift of Elizabeth Swann Carroll.
Finding Guide to the David Levy Yulee Papers, 1842-1920. 14 ln/ft.
Selected Letters from the David Levy Yulee Papers
Businessman, entrepreneur, and U.S. senator from Florida; b. David Levy. - Miscellaneous correspondence relating to activities of Yulee, territorial delegate to Congress (1841-1845), U.S. Senator from Florida (1845-1851, 18551861), and member of the Confederate Congress. Born in St. Thomas, West Indies; moved to St. Augustine in 1821. Educated in Norfolk, Virginia. Studied law in St. Augustine. Admitted to the bar in 1836. President, Atlantic and Gulf/Florida Railroad. A microfilm edition of the Yulee Papers is available to researchers in the P. K. Yonge Library of Florida History.
Auld, Isaac McQueen, 1842-1891.
Papers, 1862-1864. (Transcriptions available on CD in Special Collections)
Description: 1 folder (49 p.)
Summary: Correspondence. Typed transcript of 24 letters sent to his mother, brothers, and sister in Madison, Florida dating from June 11, 1862 to July 20, 1864. After the war he became a Presbyterian minister in St. Petersburg, Dade City, Wildwood, and Orlando.
Florida History
Fl. Misc. Ms. 00,992
Bailey, Casermo O. [a.k.a. Cosmo]
Description: 21 letters.
Summary: Correspondence. The letters in the collection are written by Bailey to his family during his service in the Confederate Army, 1861-1865. Most of the letters originate from a camp near Petersburg, Virginia. Other locations are Camp Beauregard, Chattanooga and Knoxville, Tennessee, Charleston, South Carolina, and Folley Island. They recount the lack of provisions and the cost of a loaf of bread, the promotion and activities of officers including Major Ingram, Colonel Bullock, General Davis Stark, and troop movements. Besides communicating his keen observations of the war, Bailey assures his mother and father of his safety and his abstinence from drink. Many of the letters are from Tennessee.
Finding Guide to the Bellamy Family Papers
The Bellamy Papers contain correspondence between members of the Bellamy family and their acquaintances, spanning the years 1825-1894. These letters are personal in nature, consisting mostly of family members and friends corresponding with one another over personal matters. The major correspondents are Burton William Bellamy and his mother, Eliza A. Bellamy. Eliza's second husband was William J. Bailey, and the collection contains correspondence relating to the Bailey family, also of Jefferson County.
Of particular interest is Burton Bellamy's "Paper on Slavery" (1849). This piece, written from the eyes of a southern man studying at Yale, defends the institution and maintenance of American slavery as the South's unalienable right as derived from the Constitution of the United States. This was the prevailing argument during this time, and thus reflects the greater socio-political climate of the slave-holding section of the nation. In 2008, Mary Walker, a Bellamy descendant, donated additional family letters, which now comprise about half the collection. These letters were written to Burton Bellamy by his mother, his stepfather, his sisters, other relatives and friends. A few of the letters were written to his sisters. Walker's transcriptions of the Bellamy Family Papers are available
Bellamy, Calvin B., 1835-1863.
Description: 1 folder (24 items)
Summary: Correspondence. Many letters to wife in Madison County, Fla. saying that he was okay now and recovering from sickness and inquiring about her health. Wounded at Fredricksburg and transferred to the General Hospital in Richmond. He survived his war wounds to die from disease in the hospital. Includes original handwritten letters plus transcript copies.
Boyd, Mary E.
Description: 5 folders (221 items)
Summary: Correspondence, news clipping, autobiographical sketch. The collection contains business records, dating from 1868 to 1916. They cover a claim against the United States Government on behalf of heirs of Boyd and Munroe, for losses during the Civil War, including correspondence about the lawsuit, personal correspondence, accounts, miscellaneous documents, an autobiographical sketch, and a newspaper clipping entitled "Reminiscences about Palatka, Florida", dated 1903.
Finding Guide to the Duncan Lamont Clinch Family Papers.
Clinch family papers, 1804-1904.
Description: 1 box (14 folders).
Summary: Correspondence, family papers, legal documents, map. Consists of approximately 100 documents relating to the Clinch family. Primarily concerned with the career of General Duncan Lamont Clinch, the life of his daughter, Mrs. Robert Anderson, and the reminiscences of his son, Duncan L. Clinch, Jr. The Clinches were intermarried with the family of John Houston McIntosh of Camden County, Georgia, who was General Clinch's father-in-law . Other papers in the collection relate to the Robert Anderson family and the family of John Houston McIntosh Clinch. The reminiscences of Duncan L Clinch, Jr. relate the family's ordeals during the Civil War.
Description: 1 folder (17 letters)
Summary: Correspondence. This collection contains letters written by Charles Duren to his parents, residing in Jacksonville, Florida. The letters were written between February and April 1864 with transcriptions. The first letter details the Battle of Olustee and all the letters are written in the vicinity of Jacksonville. They recount the conditions of the camps and movements of his men around Jacksonville. He advises his mother to consult the New Bedford Mercury of February 26 to find an article in relation to his expedition in Florida. In that letter of March 12, 1864 he answers his mother's concern, 'Yes, I have a good deal of care for one so young. Guess I can stand it if nothing breaks.'
Ellis, Thomas Benton, Sr., 1842-1926.
A short record of Thomas Benton Ellis, Sr., Sept. 30, 1913.
Description: 1 folder (11 p.)
Summary: Typescript of original diary. Account of life in Alachua County (Fla.) during the Seminole Wars of 1835 to 1842. During the Civil War Ellis recounts troop movements in Florida, Tennessee, and Kentucky including capturing prisoners in Mumfordsville. Describes returning home to Gainesville after the war, returning to a farmer's life, becoming a merchant, and being elected County Tax collector in 1897 as his father had once been.
Florida History
Fl. Misc. Ms. 00.446
Finding Guide to the Ossian Bingley and Catherine Hart Papers.
Selected Letters of Ossian Hart
Selected Letters of Catherine Hart
Papers, 1839-1906.
Description: 2 folders (3 in.)
Alternate title(s): Catharine Hart and Emma Campbell papers.
Summary: Correspondence, papers. - Letters: 1839-1867; Confederate States of America, order to Col. Hart; 1st will and testament, 1873, July 21. The collection consists primarily of letters of Catharine Hart to members of her family, especially her sisters Emma and Lottie. There are later letters (1901-1906) from Mary Bigelow and John H. Douglas to Emma Campbell, John H. Douglas and others. It also includes some documents and biographical material relating to Ossian Hart, and letters from Catharine's father, Abner, consenting to her marriage to Hart. Catharine's letters include much family news, an account of boat and overland travel in Florida to hold court sessions; social descriptions of Key West and Tampa; comments on slavery, secession, and the war, and loss of her mother. The collection also contains an inventory of the documents.
Jones, Joel W., 1806-1878.
Description: 2 v.
Summary: Memoirs. Volume 1, dating 1829-1846, contains army appointments and letters of commendation. Volume 2 is an autobiography in which Jones sets forth an engaging history of his life. As a child, he was raised by his grandparents but then came under the supervision of his uncle at age 12, and describes a miserable upbringing. He entered the army in 1824. In 1836, he received orders to report to duty in Florida and arrived in St. Augustine the very day the Seminoles attacked and burned the Bulow plantation. His account of his Florida experiences is taken directly from letters written home to his wife. He describes in some detail the destruction of the plantations--doors and windows smashed, furniture broken up and thrown about. Jones served with Major Reynold Marvin Kirby, whose account of the war is also held by the library. About 20 pages of the memoir (pp. 142-162) are dedicated to matters in Florida. By September, Jones was fed up with the campaign and transferred to service in North Carolina. The memoir continues to follow his career through the year 1872.
Keene, Otis L., 1830-
Diary of Otis Keene, 1863-1910.
Description: 31 vols.
Summary: Diary, correspondence. These diaries (1863-1894, 1903-1910) contain Keene's often terse entries about his daily routines from 1863, when he resided in Washington, D.C., through his years as a citizen of Jacksonville, Florida. They include his reaction to the assassination of President Abraham Lincoln. Unfortunately, the diaries do not cover the crucial Florida years of 1898 (Spanish-American War) and 1901 (Great Jacksonville Fire) but remain important as a local chronicle.
F.2 J14 K25d (two volumes, transcription by Richard Martin)
Lang, David, 1838-1901.
Letters, 1863-1864.
Description: 13 letters (1 folder).
Summary: Correspondence and newpaper clippings. The letters in this collection relate information about the American Civil War written while the author was recovering from wounds sustained in battle. Newspaper photograph of the Surveyor General with title "Gen. David Lang Served Governors...he was in the 8th Florida Regiment Infantry."
Reproduction note: Photocopy. S.l. : s.n., 19??.
Florida History
Fl. Misc. Ms. 00,985
Linsley, James H., Lieutenant.
Diary of Lieutenant Linsley in 10th Conn., 1862-1864.
Description: 1 folder (25 p.)
Summary: Diary. The diary of Lieutenant James H. Linsley of the 10th Connecticut. His diary (two volumes) begins with an entry for November 4, 1862 and continues with sporadic entries through July 29, 1864. In the first volume, Linsley writes extensively about his experiences in North Carolina, being stationed on ship off North Carolina, 1862-1863, describing skirmishes there. The second volume (commencing September 6, 1863) covers action off the coast of South Carolina and his arrival in Florida for duty at St. Augustine. There is a partial transcription of his diary in Box 24 of the Miscellaneous Manuscript Collection.
Mallory, Stephen R. (Stephen Russell), 1813-1873.
Letters, 1863-1865, 1948-1961.
Description: 1 folder (25 original items plus photostats 11 items)
Summary: Correspondence. Letters from Stephen Chandler to his wife, Angela in Pensacola, Fla. dated 1863-1865 giving a personal account of battles, troop movements and everyday life during the Civil War. In particular there is a long detailed letter written during the Seven day's Battles from the battlefield. There is a letter from Angela to President Andrew Johnson dated November 1865 begging for clemency for her husband due to his ill health. Also included are letters, J.C. Yonge to Cora and Rose Mallory dated 1948 to 1949 concerning the donation of this collection and from 1960 to 1961 concerning a photograph of Angela Mallory's portrait to be used in the dedication ceremony for a new women's dormitory at the University of Florida named for her. It is obvious from these letters that Yonge was a close friend of the Mallory family.
Maxwell, David Elwell, b. 1843
Description: 2 folders (57 items)
Summary: Correspondence. This collection contains family correspondence, dating from 1862 to 1863. The letters are primarily written to Maxwell's mother during his service in the Civil War, 1862-1864. These letters have been transcribed. The collection also contains genealogies as well as photographs of Maxwell and his obituary.
There is a related set of letters at the Duke University Library.
McDonell, Augustus Oswald.
Description: 1 vol.
Summary: Civil War diary, including writings and drawings. This item contains details about Lieutenant McDonell's experience in the war from August 10, 1862 to April 22, 1863. It also includes poetry and portrait sketches.
Mickler, Jacob E., b. 1835.
Description: 2 folders (32 items)
Summary: Correspondence. The collection of 30 Civil War letters reveals information on the mining of the St. John's River, Fla., and the blockade running on Florida's southwest coast. At the same time they outline the lives of the writers and their families and contribute to the knowledge of refugees from the war, non-combatants in Northeast Florida.
Nixon, James J.
Letters, 1861-1863.
Description: 1 folder (10 items)
Bio/historical note: Confederate Soldier. Nixon was a member of the 8th Florida Regiment and died of wounds sustained in the Battle of Brandy Station a.k.a. Battle of Culpeper (Va.), the largest cavalry battle in the history of the Western Hemisphere.
Summary: Correspondence. This collection contains letters to Louisa A. Nixon, in Mt. Pleasant, from her husband, James J. Nixon, dated between 1861 and 1863, sent from Apalachicola, Fla., Camp Retrieve, Camp Milton, Charleston, S.C., Culpepper, Va. and the Florida Army Hospital in Richmond, Va. The last letter was dictated to a nurse as Nixon was dying of wounds sustained at the Battle of Culpeper (aka Brandy Station). In his letters Nixon mostly talks about the lack of available food, long marches and disease taking its toll on life and morale and asks his wife to write to him often. One letter is written from the trenches of the Battle of Culpeper at night while both sides are taking a break from fighting.
Florida History
Fl. Misc. Ms. 00,518
Perry, Madison Starke, 1814-1865.
Letters, 1860-1862.
Description: 1 folder (11 items)
Summary: Correspondence. Letter to his wife from Camp Graham (Ark?), July 15, 1862, a letter by his daughter, Sallie J. Perry, to another Mr. Perry regarding her father, two official war documents, seven negative image photocopies of correspondence, and one journal article reproducing a letter to General Lee. Most of the materials in this collection were produced while Col. Perry was near the Tennessee and Arkansas border and speak of the Confederate Tennessee troops.
Florida History
Fl. Misc. Ms. 00,483
Raysor, Michael Oliver, 1837-1864.
Papers, 1861-1864.
Description: 33 letters, and other materials.
Summary: Correspondence. This collection contains 33 letters, fragments of letters and envelopes, an obituary and selected transcriptions of letters. These letters were exchanged between members of the Johnson and Raysor families between 1861 and 1864. The bulk of the correspondence (25 letters plus 3 fragments) is between Michael Raysor and Sarah Johnson Raysor written between August 1861 and August 1863. Two letters, dated 1862 and 1863 are from Michael Raysor to his mother. The collection also contains 5 letters, 1863 to 1864, from various correspondents to Sarah Johnson Raysor and 1 letter, 1862, written by L. J. Johnson to his brother. The letters document the hardships of war, troop movements and family concerns.
Florida History
Fl. Misc. Ms. 00,162
Also published in The Florida Historical Quarterly
Steedman, Charles, 1811-1890.
Description: 1 folder (8 items)
Summary: Correspondence. Letters to his wife and friends written during the time he was blockading Florida ports, particularly Fernandina, St. Augustine, and the St. Johns' River from a number of Union vessels describing everyday occurrences.
Wilder-Loomis family papers, 1864-1888.
Description: 4 folders.
Arrangement: Organized into five series: (1) Loomis family general, (2) Eben Jenks Loomis, (3) Mary Wilder Loomis, (4) Wilder family general, and (5) John Augustus Wilder.
Summary: Correspondence, writings, personal and financial records. This collection is a photostatic reproduction of a section of the Wilder-Loomis Papers held by the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University. The sections duplicated here pertain to Wilder's military service in Key West during the Civil War, and to Loomis's two cotton plantations in Jacksonville. Papers consist primarily of letters the two men wrote home to their family members in Massachusetts concerning their experiences in Florida.
Restrictions on use: Researchers interested in publishing from these papers should contact the Beinecke Library at Yale for permission.
Reproduction note: Photocopy. New Haven, Ct.: Yale University, 19??.
Florida History
Fl. Misc. Ms. 99,018
|
