Jewish Studies: Getting Started in Research

Before beginning your research, it is essential to clearly define your research question. If you do not have a specific question in mind, consider what you hope to learn. Ask yourself:

• What events or historical periods interest you?
• Whose lives or experiences do you want to study?
• What documents, books, artistic works, or other sources intrigue you?
• Why is this topic meaningful to you?

To refine your research question, consider the fundamental aspects of inquiry: who, what, when, where, why, and how. Additionally, you can narrow your focus in the following ways:

Demographics

• Explore a particular group such as an age bracket, gender, ethnic community, religious affiliation, or occupation.

Location

• Concentrate on a specific country, city, or town, or analyze a broader environmental context (e.g., urban vs. rural).

Key Issues

• Identify pressing issues that captivate you. Your perspective on these issues can shape your research question.

Perspective

• Examine causes, effects, or impacts related to your topic of study.

Timeframe

• Determine whether you are interested in contemporary issues or historical events. Try to narrow the period as much as possible.

Using Library Catalogs and Bibliographic Indexes:

• Search your institution’s catalog using identified subject headings.
• Explore additional works by authors whose research aligns with your topic.
• Follow up on footnotes and references within dictionaries and lexicons.

Your search will likely yield books, articles, and review essays, each of which can guide you toward additional readings. Take note of complete call numbers and maintain a well-organized list to facilitate efficient browsing within the library’s collection. Often, the best resources emerge while perusing bookshelves.

Accessing Additional Resources:

• Interlibrary Loan: If a book or document is unavailable at your institution, consider using interlibrary loan services. Be mindful that delivery may take time.
• Unified Catalogs & WorldCat: Check broader databases to locate resources beyond your immediate library.

Review Articles & Bibliographies:

• Review articles offer a broader perspective on scholarly debates within your field of interest.
• Bibliographies provide curated lists of essential sources.
• Both can help identify existing academic discussions and shape your research approach.

Once you have gathered sufficient information, compile a reading list that includes:

• The author’s background and expertise
• The main arguments and themes of each source
• Connections between various readings

Finding links between arguments across sources is crucial for developing your own research claims. Thoughtful engagement with existing scholarship will refine your research question and contribute to a well-informed, compelling study.

Create an Annotated Bibliography

Create an annotated bibliography, noting:

• The issues your sources address
• Questions that remain unanswered
• Topics you feel require further investigation

Additional sources may reshape your research question. Use footnotes, bibliographies, and library catalogs to locate further materials, including works by authors you have already read.