Guides @ UF: Pharmacy Graduate Students: Writing, Citing & Publishing

Citation Bibliography Management

Resources to help you manage your citations.

Refworks
Accessable via our Database page. Must create a login and password. UF faculty, staff and students only. Must be on VPN or proxy to access from off campus. Guide and tutorial links on help/tutorials page
Endnote - web version via Web of Knowledge (Science)
UF Students, Faculty and Staff only. If accessing from off campus- must be logged into either VPN or proxy. You must create a login and password to use this feature. Endnote is also a software package that has to purchased by an individual.
My NCBI
Create collections of saved citations from PubMed. Can share collection. You can also set permanent filters and create alerts by saving strategies. Use the My Bibliography feature to create a record of items you have published. My Bibliography is used to create reports and track NIH compliance for NIH supported research.
Mendeley
Free bibliographic management that also allows you to share your bibliography. There is also a for a fee version that has more capabilities.
Zotero
FireFox extention for managing your citations

Biomedical Citation Formats

The following resources contain the citation formats used by many of the biomedical journals. There are sources for formats used in other disciplines linked in the box below.

Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers.
NLM's style manual for writing references or citations for print and electronic resources. This is the style used by the WPPD program.
more...less...
Hint: Go down the table of Contents to find the type of material (journal, journal on the internet, database, book)
then look at the examples to see if there is one that resembles your source. Use that example as a template.
NLM Citation Quick Guide from Washington State University
Washington State University's Libraries' Quick Guide to the NLM citation format. It includes samples for the most commonly used publication types.
International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts
Short list of citations for commonly used types of materials such as journal articles, books, book chapters and electronic books and journals.
AMA Manual of Style
Includes reference styles. Must be logged into either the EzProxy or VPN to access it from off campus.

Nonbiomedical citation formats (APA, Chicago, Turabian, etc)

These formats may be used by journals in the the areas of business, economics, education, law, psychology, and sociology.

Purdue Online Writing Lab
APA, MLA ( Modern Language Assn. ), Chicago
Citation Machine
Select your format and then fill in the form with the item's bibliographic information and it will put it into the correct format. It includes formats the following formats; AMA, APA, Chicago, and specific journals
UMass Amherst: Citing Government Information
Includes Turabian, Chicago, APA, and Legal formats.
Cornell's Intro to Basic Legal Citation
First appeared, 1993 but revised fall 2010 to reflect changes appearing in 4th ed of ALWD (Association of Legal Writing Directors) Citation Manual and 19th ed of The Bluebook, both published earlier in 2010, and recent developments in law publishing and citation rules of individual U.S. jurisdictions.

Data Citation formats

IASSIST Quick Guide to Data Citation
From the ICPSR (International Association for Social Science Information Services & Technology) at the University of Michigan this source discusses citing data.
UMich's ICPSR Data Management & Curation:Citing Data

Other citing/ writing help

Writing & Publishing LibGuide
Writing Resources
Non medical writing styles and manuals. Good for articles written for non-medical / non-pharmaceutical journals ( sociology, law, policy)
Copyright on Campus
Pimp Your Power Point: The Scientist magazine 2010
Includes a 5.5 minute video entitled Improve Your PowerPoint by Michael Alley a communications professor at Penn State
Poster Perfect from The Scientist 2011
How to create a poster that is informative and visually appealing. Includes a checklist.

Selecting a journal for your article

These sources will help authors evaluate potential journals for their articles. One of the sources refers to Beall's list, but that list of predatory publishers has been removed from the Internet.

Evaluating Online Scholarly Journals for Quality
Tips for evaluating the quality, and legitimacy of a journal, before submitting your article
Evaluating an OA journal before submitting an article
Dear Esteemed Author:” Spotting a Predatory Publisher in 10 Easy Steps
Article by Christopher Morley, PhD. on the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Blog. Posted May 23, 2016.
ThinkCheckSubmit.org
Contains a check list for determining whether a journal is predatory or legitimate.
Identifying Preditory Publishers from The Scientist online magazine
Types of Review articles ( journal article describing)
Article citation: Grant MJ, Booth A. A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies. Health Information and Libraries Journal , 2009; 26(2):91–108. DOI: 10.1111/j.1471-1842.2009.00848.x.
Guide to Systematic Reviews and Meta-analyses
Is what you want to write really a systematic review. What is involved in writing a systematic review and how does it differ from other review articles or meta-analyses?

Other LibGuides and Resources

NIH Public Access Compliance LibGuide
Information on how to be compliant with the Public Access regulation for authors whose articles are a result of a NIH grant. It is also relevant to those of you who are recipients of T1 grants. Includes links to tutorials from NIH.
Institutional Repository
What is the IR? How do I submit and what should submit to the IR? The IR will allow you to permanently store an accessible electronic version of your work, including posters and presentations. Data can also be submitted to this open access source.
Open Access Publishing Fund
This fund was created and funded by the Provost to offset charges for graduate students and faculty who do not have grant funding, and want to publish in open access journals. This page contains a link to the application along with the application guidelines .
ORCID ( Open Researcher & Contributor ID)