Guides @ UF: Pharmacy Graduate Students: General Databases and resources

General Databases for Pharmacy

Access Pharmacy
Full text pharmacy texts, clinical tools, calculators, drug information & ACPE curricular resources. Includes exam review resources. Courtesy of the College of Pharmacy
ClinicalTrials.gov
Clinical trials is a database of trials that are both privately and publicly funded. It includes trials ranging from those that are currently recruiting to those that have been completed. It also includes those that have been terminated for various reasons, including patient safety. Researchers funded by NIH are required to submit their results to this database.
Cochrane Library
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, and the Health Technology Assessment Database
Comparative Effectiveness search in PubMed
Health Services Research filtered search in PubMed
Includes filters for costs, outcome assessment, quality assurance, economics, appropriateness, and process assessment.
IPA: International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
We have this database available through OVID. It covers all aspects of the pharmaceutical sciences including pharmacy practice, clinical pharmacy, pharmaceutical education, and drug discovery.
PMC: PubMed Central
A database of free full text articles and journal article manuscripts. This database is linked to PubMed. It includes the full text manuscripts for articles 12 months after publication, that are the result of NIH funding since April 2008.
PubMed
Free database, but you must go through our database page or this link to see if we have an article in our collection, either in print or electronically.
TOXNET
Multiple databases including LactMed ( information on drugs and chemicals and effects on breastfeeding mothers and children), ChemID (chemical names, structures, & synonyms) , CTD (chemical effects on genes), HSBD ( Hazardous Substance Database, a fulltext database containing toxicological information on chemicals and drugs )
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)
PICO search for evidence based clinical searches including systematic reviews and RCTs.
Web of Science (WOS)
Web of Science includes journal literature from all areas of the sciences, social sciences and humanities. You can also access ISI's versions of Biosis, CAB, and Medline from this site by using the drop down menu to choose one or to search all simultaniously.
Natural Medicines
Includes databases on wellness, sports medicine and food, herbs and supplements. It includes therapeutic modalities

Pharmacy Resources

Drug Information Resource from National Library of Medicine
Although the title says drug information, this resource links to information on pharmacy law, pharmaceutical practice, compounding, veterinary drug resources, nomenclature, statistics, and journals
FDA
Drugs@FDA database for drug labelling information, Veterinary drug information, Orange Book for generic equivalencies, Medwatch, and drug shortage information, Has guidance and regulatory information for drug development and manufacturing..
FAERS ( FDA Adverse Event Reporting System
Reports on adverse serious risks and action taken.
USP Dictionary of USAN & International Drug Names: USAN
We get this for free through a joint program from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and the USP.
Click on the login button to get to the contents.
LiverTox
Information on the liver toxicity of prescription drugs, herbals, supplements, and OTC medications. It also includes a case registry

Drug Monographs- Full Text Drug Information

Clinical Pharmacology
Contains full text drug and CAM monographs, drug identifier, product comparison tool, drug interaction tool, IV compatability report. Also includes the Beers Drug List and combo chemotherapy regimens. The mobile app is included with the subscription. This database is paid for by the College of Medicine.
DAILYMED
Official labels for prescription drugs, produced by the National Library of Medicine in conjunction with the FDA. Includes Veterinary in addition to human drugs. It also links to FDA guidance and compliance information. This is a free database and is available to anyone.
Micromedex
Full text drug monographs including Martindales monographs and Neo-Fax ( neonatal drug information ) Also includes MSDS from the USP, alternative medicine monographs, and Diseasedex, for general medicine and Emergency Medicine. Access to the mobile apps is included in the subscription.
USP-NF
Click on the Login Button, if there is one on the screen. It may appear in the central box on the screen or in the top right hand corner. ( this link seems to go to more than one screen)

Database Help & Tutorials

PubMed tutorials and help
This page links to a comprehensive PubMed tutorial and various short tutorials on specific aspects of searching PubMed, including: filtering your search, using the advanced search, linking to full text articles,and using the MyNCBI tools.
Cochrane Library Help
Downloadable PDF Reference Guide

Databases & Free Websites

There are two documents. One contains databases to which UF subscribes and the 2nd one is a list of free websites that you might find useful after you graduate, including ones that contain free full text journal articles.You need to double check the commercial drug information sites for their authoritativeness and currency. Check with your instructor for the acceptability of the .com sites before using for an assignment.

Databases
List of UF's databases that may be useful in pharmacy research. The Database list includes a brief description of each database. It does include PubMed, which is free.
Free Websites
Free websites that you may find useful. It includes free databases as well as websites that have free full text. Double check the drug information sites for the authoritativeness & reliability. Check with your professor for acceptability for coursework

Pharmacy Graduate Students: General Databases and resources

Page Contents

General Databases for Pharmacy

Pharmacy Resources

Drug Monographs- Full Text Drug Information

Database Help & Tutorials

Databases & Free Websites