Guides @ UF: The Native Struggle for Justice in the Spanish Empire: Conquest Accounts by Spaniards: Other Regions

Central America

Gil González Dávila (?-1526)

Teatro eclesiastico de la primitiva iglesia de la Nueva España en las Indias occidentales
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Dewey (Request at Circ. Desk) -- 277.2G643t

Teatro eclesiastico de la primitiua Iglesia de las Indias Occidentales, vidas de sus arzobispos, obispos, y cosas memorables de sus sedes ...

Juan Vázquez de Coronado (ca. 1525-65)

The journey of Francisco Vazquez de Coronado, 1540-1542
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Special Coll Rare Books (Non-Circulating) -- 973.16W777j
Cartas de Juan Vázquez de Coronado, conquistador de Costa Rica.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Dewey (Request at Circ. Desk) -- 972.8603V3934c 1964

Cartas de Juan Vázquez de Coronado, conquistador de Costa Rica.

Pascual de Andagoya (ca. 1498-1548)

Relación y documentos
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- E141.A55 1986
Narrative of the proceedings of Pedrarias Davila in the provinces of Tierra Firme or Catilla del Oro, and of the discovery of the South sea and the coasts of Peru and Nicaragua
Call Number: FLARE General Collection -- Request via UBorrow -- 910.8H156w no.34

Pedro de Alvarado (ca. 1486-1541)

An account of the conquest of Guatemala in 1524 edited by Sedley J. Mackie. With a facsim. of the Spanish original, 1525.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Dewey (Request at Circ. Desk) -- 972.81A472a, 1972

An account of the conquest of Guatemala in 1524

Diego García de Palacio (fl. 1576-1587)

Letter to the King of Spain : being a description of the ancient provinces of Guazacapan, Izalco, Cuscatlan, and Chiquimula, in the Audiencía of Guatemala, with an account of the languages, customs, and religion of their aboriginal inhabitants, and a desc
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1437.G2613 1985

Martín Alfonso Tovilla (fl. 1623-44)

Relaciones histórico-descriptivas de la Verapaz, el Manché y Lacandón en Guatemala.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Dewey (Request at Circ. Desk) -- 378.7281GMp, v.35

Andrés de Avendaño y Loyola (fl. 1695-1705)

Relation of two trips to Petén : made for the conversion of the heathen Ytzaex and Cehaches
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1465.2.I87A87x 1987

Agustín Cano (1651-1722)

Manche and Peten : the hazards of Itza deceit and barbarity
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1465.2.I87C36 1984

Juan de Villagutierre Soto-mayor (fl. 1701)

History of the conquest of the province of the Itza : subjugation and events of the Lacandon and other nations of uncivilized Indians in the lands from the kingdom of Guatemala to the provinces of Yucatan in North America
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1465.2.I87V5413 1983

Historia de la conquista de la provincia de el Itza, reduccion, y progressos de la de el Lacandon, y otras naciones de indios barbaros, de la mediacion de el Reyno de Guatimala, a las provincias del Yucatan en la América Septentrional : primera parte

Northern and Western Mexico (including Florida)

Nuño Beltrán de Guzmán (ca. 1485-ca. 1560)

Memoria de los servicios que había hecho Nuño de Guzmán, : desde que fué nombrado gobernador de Pánuco en 1525.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Microfilm -- SN01183.3 ; UF SMATHERS, Latin America Dewey (Request at Circ. Desk) -- 972.02G993m

Alvar Nuñez Cabeza de Vaca (ca. 1510-58)

Cabeza de Vaca's adventures in the unknown interior of America. A new translation, with annotation by Cyclone Covey.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Special Coll Florida History (Non-Circulating) -- F.021N972rEc

Publication Date: 1961
Álvar Núñez Cabeza de Vaca; the journey and route of the first European to cross the continent of North America, 1534-1536 by Cleve Hallenbeck ...
Call Number: UF LIBRARY WEST General Collection -- E125.N9H3 ; UF SMATHERS, Special Coll Florida History (Non-Circulating) -- F.021N972rEh

Publication Date: 1940

Part I is a paraphrase in English of Núñez Cabeza de Vaca's "La relación", first published in Spanish in Zamora, 1542.
The Account: Alvar Núñez Cabeza de Vaca's Relación
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- E125.N9A3 1993b ; UF LIBRARY WEST General Collection -- E125.N9A3 1993b

ISBN: 1558850600

Publication Date: 1993
Chronicle of the Narváez expedition : a new translation, context, criticism Álvar Núñez Cabeza de Vaca ; translated by David Frye ; edited by Ilan Stavans.
Call Number: UF LIBRARY WEST General Collection -- E125.N9A3 2013
Relation of Nuñez Cabeza de Vaca [Translated from the Spanish by Buckingham Smith].
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- E125.N9 1966 ; UF SMATHERS, Special Coll Florida History (Non-Circulating) -- F.021;N972nEs;1966

Publication Date: 1966
Alvar Nunez Cabeza de Vaca by Rolena Adorno; Patrick C. Pautz
Call Number: UF LIBRARY WEST General Collection -- E125.N9A25 1999

Publication Date: 1999
The journey of Alvar Nuñez Cabeza de Vaca and his companions from Florida to the Pacific, 1528-1536 translated from his own narrative by Fanny Bandelier, together with the report of Father Marcos of Nizza and a letter from the viceroy Mendoza; edited, wi
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Special Coll Florida History (Non-Circulating) -- F.021N972nEb

Publication Date: 1904

Marcos de Niza (fl. 1531-43)

The Journey of Fray Marcos de Niza by Cleve Hallenbeck; Jose Cisneros (Illustrator); David J. Weber (Introduction by)
Call Number: UF LIBRARY WEST General Collection -- E125.M3H34 1987

Publication Date: 1987

Baltasar de Obregón (1544-?)

Historia de los descubrimientos de Nueva España Baltasar Obregón ; estudio introductorio, edición y glosario de Eva Ma. Bravo.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1231.O142 1997

Publication Date: 1997
Historia de los descubrimientos antiguos y modernos de la Nueva España escrita por el conquistador Baltasar de Obregon, año de 1584. Descubierta por Mariano Cvevas y publicada por la Sria. de educacion.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Ltd. Cir. -- F1231.O14

Publication Date: 1924
Descripción de la Nueva Galicia. Ed. yestudio por Francois Chevalier. Prólogo de John Van Horne.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Dewey (Request at Circ. Desk) -- 980.082S511p ser.3 no.3

Publication Date: 1946

Domingo Lázaro de Arregui (17th century)

Descripción de la Nueva Galicia. Ed. yestudio por Francois Chevalier. Prólogo de John Van Horne.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online Resource

Francisco Mariano de Torres (fl. 1755-66)

Crónica de la saneta Provincia de Xalisco. Notas de Fray Luis del Refugio de Palacio
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America Dewey (Request at Circ. Desk) -- 271.3T693c 1960

Map of Hispaniola

http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00029182/00001

Cuba Insula, Hispaniola Insula

Yucatán

Diego de Landa (1524-1579)

Yucatan before and after the conquest
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1435.L3413 1986

The Maya : Diego de Landa's account of the affairs of Yucatán edited and translated by A. R. Pagden.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1376.L24613

Publication Date: 1975
Landa's Relación de las cosas de Yucatan, a translation edited with notes by Alfred Tozzer.
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- E51.H337 v. 18, 1975

Relación de las cosas de Yucatán
- This link opens in a new window

Pedro Sánchez de Aguilar (1555-1648)

Andrés de Avendaño y Loyola (fl. 1695-1705)

History of the Spanish conquest of Yucatan and of the Itzas. by Means, Philip Ainsworth 1892-
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- E51.H337 v.7 1974

History of the Spanish conquest of Yucatan and of the Itzas.

Peru

Gil González Dávila (?-1526)

Teatro eclesiástico de la primitiua Iglesia de las Indias Occidentales, vidas de sus arzobispos, y obispos, y cosas memorables de sus sedes, en lo que pertenece al Reino del Piru ...

Pedro Arias de Avila (ca. 1440-1530)

Narrative of the proceedings of Pedrarias Davila in the provinces of Tierra Firme or Catilla del Oro, and of the discovery of the South sea and the coasts of Peru and Nicaragua.

Jesuit Missions in Northwestern Mexico

Nuestra Señora de Cinaloa 1601 by Gilberto J. López Alanís
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- BT660.C66L67 2005

Publication Date: 2005
Descripción geográfica de los reinos de Nueva Galicia, Nueva Vizcaya y Nuevo León Alonso de la Mota y Escobar. by Mota y Escobar, Alonso de la 1546-1625
Call Number: UF SMATHERS, Latin America General Collection -- F1211.M85 1993

Mange's Luz de tierra incógnita : a translation of the original manuscript, together with an historical introduction