Acquisitions- this is the process by which the library receives materials; materials can be ordered, donated, or exchanged
ALA- American Library Association
Alma- computer system used in the library for processing books
Archives- library collections containing records, documents, or other materials of historical interest. Marston does not have an archives section in the building.
Ask A Librarian- an online chat service where you can chat with a librarian
Blocking- the task of lining the spines of the books up with the edge of the shelf
Call Number- a set of numbers and letters that are assigned to each item to distinguish them from one another and group them by subject
Carts (and/or trucks)- wheeled shelving units that are used to hold and transport books
Column- one vertical unit of shelving generally usually consisting of seven shelves
Compact Shelving- electric rows of shelving that run on tracks and open by pressing the button closest to the isle that needs to be opened; these are used on the 2nd floor of the library in order to conserve space
Course Reserves- textbooks located on the compact shelving in the back of the 2nd floor. These items cannot be checked out, they are for patron in-house use.
Database- a collection of data arranged in an electronic form for ease and speed of search and retrieval
Desensitize- the action of scanning the books so that they will not activate the security system upon being taken out of the library
Document Delivery or Distance Learning- this service provides library material to students and faculty located off of campus.
Donations- books that are given to the library as gifts
Face- a unit of shelving consisting of half a range (one row) composed of 5-15 columns.
ILL (InterLibrary Loan)- the process of a student or faculty member borrowing material not held in the UF Libraries from another library
Journals- these are items in a series that are received more than once a year and cataloged under one title
Leveling- the task of bringing books back to their appropriate floors
LC- Library of Congress Call Numbers- LC is the system of organization used by the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. to classify materials by subject area. These call numbers start with letters.
Loose Issues- unbound, single issues of a journal
Marston Portrait- portrait of Robert Q. Marston on the 2nd floor in the entryway of Marston Science Library
Monograph- item in the form of a book or set of volumes on one topic
OCLC- Online Computer Library Center; nonprofit computer service and research organization whose systems help libraries locate, acquire, catalog, and lend library materials
OPAC- Online Public Access Catalog; the electronic equivalent to a card catalog
Periodicals- magazine or journal received more than once a year
Range of Shelving- a unit consisting of two rows (faces) of shelving
Recall- when one patron has a book checked out, a second patron may request the book. A letter is sent to the first patron informing them of a changed, and more recent, due date.
Row- a unit of shelving consisting of half of a range of shelving
Search Request- when a book can not be found in the library but it is not checked out, circulation will do several searches over a period of time in order to locate the book (Also called an Item Needed Request)
Selector- each topic in Marston Science Library has a selector who is a librarian that chooses what new books to order for that topic and generally manages the books and periodicals in that area
Sensitize- the action of scanning a book so that it will activate the security system if it is taken out of the library without being checked out
Serial- items that are received in multiple volumes and come in regularly; each serial has a single title and multiple volumes of that title
Shelf Reading- the task of reading every call number in a section to ensure that they are in order
Shifting- relocating and reorganizing materials to accommodate growth of the library collection
Stacks- the rows of books that house the library's collection
State Documents- in the Science Library these are agricultural documents from State Experiment Stations, Cooperative Extension Services and some State Departments of Agriculture
Storage- off-site housing for infrequently used library materials
Sweeping- the task of locating books used by patrons and returning them to their proper reshelving areas
Weeding- the act of removing out-of-date or damaged materials from the shelves
|
