Skip to main content

Aleph@UF: Rare Books Collection Additional Fields

Cataloging procedures and policies

Last updated November 2018 by Dave Van Kleeck

Rare Books Collection Additional Fields

Call numbers:

Dewey (shelving is full) – reclass to LC

LofC

RCM + shelf # – reclass to LC

V + shelf #    {Victorian sermons}

Processing:

  • Insert acid-free strip with barcode on one side and call number on other
  • Acid free strip should be just a little wider than the barcode and just long enough for the call number and barcode to show over the cover
  • Pencil call number on bookplate inside front cover.

Size:

Regular size is under 30 cm

Oversize (z subfield in Aleph call number) = 30 cm - 40 cm

Folio (z subfield in Aleph call number) = over 40 cm

Elephant folio (z subfield in Aleph call number) = over 50 cm

Access points:

Publisher. Validate it or create a new Authority record!:

700 1 publisher, ǂe publisher.

710 2 publisher, ǂe publisher.

Printer. Validate it or create a new Authority record!:

700 1 printer, ǂe printer. or ǂe stereotyper. or ǂe electrotyper.

710 2 printer. ǂe printer. or ǂe stereotyper. or ǂe electrotyper.

            Be sure there to add these subfields to the 264 3  ǂa : ǂb

Engraver. Validate it or create a new Authority record!:

700 1 engraver, ǂe engraver.

710 2 engraver, ǂe engraver.

500  Illustrations engraved by .

500  Illustrations engraved by {engraver} after {illustrator}.

Illustrator. Validate it or create a new Authority record!:

700 1 illustrator, ǂe illustrator.

710 2 illustrator, ǂe illustrator.

500  Illustrated by .

500  Illustration signed by: .

Lithographer. Validate it or create a new Authority record!:

700 1 lithographer, ǂe lithographer.   {printing of illustrations in color}

710 2 lithographer, ǂe lithographer.

500  Illustrations lithographed by .

Binder. Validate it or create a new Authority record!:

500  Binder's ticket: ------.

700 1 binder, ǂe binder.

710 2 binder, ǂe binder.

655 7 Binders’ tickets (Binding) ǂx binder’s name ǂy xxxx. ǂ2 rbbin

Binding designer. Validate it or create a new Authority record!:

700 1 artist, ǂe binding designer.

710 2 artist, ǂe binding designer.

655 7 Signed binding (Binding) ǂx designer’s name ǂy xxxx. ǂ2 rbbin

Some suggested notes:

500  Added title page, engraved.

500  Date of publication from inscription.

500  Date of publication based on date of preface: Dec. 29, 1877.

500  Harold and Mary Jean Hanson Rare Book Collection copy: date of publication based on bookseller's ms. note. ǂ5 KEEPUF ǂ5 FU

500  Approximate dates according to Brown, P. A. London publisher and printers, p. .

590  Harold and Mary Jean Hanson Rare Book Collection copy lacks leaf of plates. ǂ5 KEEPUF ǂ5 FU

590  Harold and Mary Jean Hanson Rare Book Collection copy lacks p. 4-5. ǂ5 KEEPUF ǂ5 FU

590  Harold and Mary Jean Hanson Rare Book Collection copy lacks p. 25-26 and p. 39 torn, affecting text. ǂ5 KEEPUF

ǂ5 FU

590  Harold and Mary Jean Hanson Rare Book Collection copy contains printing error. ǂ5 KEEPUF ǂ5 FU

500  Pages printed on one side only.

590  Harold and Mary Jean Hanson Rare Book Collection copy: pages unopened. ǂ5 KEEPUF ǂ5 FU       [pages still joined at top]

590  Harold and Mary Jean Hanson Rare Book Collection copy: pages uncut. ǂ5 KEEPUF ǂ5 FU      [pages uneven – have not been cut uniformly]

Or

590  Harold and Mary Jean Hanson Rare Book Collection copy untrimmed. ǂ5 KEEPUF ǂ5 FU      [pages have not been cut uniformly]

Genre terms (and accompanying 5XX note):

655 7 Hand-colored illustrations ǂy xxxx. ǂ2 local

500  Illustrations are hand-colored.

655 7 Publishers’ advertisements ǂy xxxx. ǂ2 rbgenr

500  Publisher’s advertisements follow text.

500  Publisher’s advertisements on endpapers.

500  Publisher’s advertisements precede and follow text.   {or any variation of places}

500  Publisher’s advertisements on p. [4] of wrapper.   {if on back of paper cover}

655 7 Publishers’ catalogues ǂy xxxx. ǂ2 rbgenr

500  Publisher’s catalogue follows text. {or any variation of places}

655 7 Authors' presentation inscription (Provenance) ǂx author’s last name ǂy xxxx. ǂ2 rbprov

590  Harold and Mary Jean Hanson Rare Book Collection copy: inscribed by the author. ǂ5 KEEPUF ǂ5 FU

655 7 Authors' autographs (Provenance) ǂx author’s last name ǂy xxxx. ǂ2 rbprov

590  Harold and Mary Jean Hanson Rare Book Collection copy: signed by the author. ǂ5 KEEPUF ǂ5 FU

650 0 Miniature books ǂv Specimens.     {under 10 cm}

655 7 Miniature books (Printing) ǂz (city) ǂy xxxx. ǂ2 rbpri

655 7 Dust jackets (Bindings) ǂy xxxx. ǂ2 rbbin

In Aleph:

Add any Rare Book Collection only fields: 590  Harold and Mary Jean Hanson Rare Book Collection copy: … ǂ5 KEEPUF ǂ5 FU

Add any Book Arts only fields: 590  Harold and Mary Jean Hanson Rare Book Collection: Book Arts Collection copy: … ǂ5 KEEPUF ǂ5 FU

710 2 Harold and Mary Jean Hanson Rare Book Collection $$b Book Arts Collection. ǂ5 KEEPUF ǂ5 FU

Add any Howe only fields: 590  Parkman Dexter Howe Library copy: … ǂ5 KEEPUF ǂ5 FU

Add any Florida History only fields: 590  P.K. Yonge Library of Florida History copy ... ǂ5 KEEPUF ǂ5 FU

 

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.