Skip to Main Content

RDS@UF: Latin American and Caribbean Collection Guidelines

Resource Description Services department procedures and policies

Last updated July 2022 by Greg Allen

Latin American and Caribbean Collection Guidelines


The Latin American and Caribbean Collection is the primary location for ALL materials in the humanities and social sciences dealing with Latin America. This includes publications from Latin America and those published elsewhere. This does not mean that all publications from Latin America belong in the LACC. For publications in the sciences (LC classification Q and S), materials are housed in both the LACC and the Marston Science Library. General materials may be sent to the LACC but the more technical works are sent to MSL. (e.g. Books on coffee growing go to science, but those on the coffee industry go to LACC) Please contact the LACC or Science cataloger with any and all questions.

Block numbers
This is NOT a complete list but books in the following ranges belong in the LACC.
F1201- History

HC121-239.5 Economic conditions

PQ3940-3949.3 French language literature from the Caribbean Area (including
French Guiana)

PQ7081-8560 Spanish language literature from Latin America
(Note: PQ7070-7079 belongs in Main)

PQ9500-9693 Portuguese language literature from Latin America (chiefly Brazil)

PR9200-9333 English language literature from Latin America (chiefly the British
West Indies and Guyana)


Latin America refers to all the following:


Central America.

Belize (British Honduras), Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Costa Rica, Panama (originally part of Colombia, and thus South America)

West Indies/Caribbean Area

Bermuda (in the Atlantic Ocean) but included because of classification in both Dewey and LC), Bahamas, Turks and Caicos.

Greater Antilles: Cuba, Haiti, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Jamaica, Navassa

Lesser Antilles: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Barbados, Bonaire, Cayman Islands, Curaçao, Désirade, Dominica, Grenada, Grenadines, Guadeloupe, Les Saintes, Marie Galante, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis and Saint Kitts-Nevis, Saba, Saint Bartholomew, Saint Christopher (Saint Kitts), Saint Croix, Saint Eustatius, Saint John, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin (Sint Maarten), Saint Thomas, Saint Vincent, Trinidad and Tobago, Virgin Islands (British and U.S.)

South America

Colombia, Venezuela, Guiana (Guyana [British Guiana], Suriname, French Guiana), Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay, Argentina (La Plata Region), Ascension Island, Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas), Chile (includes Easter Island), Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador (includes Galápagos Islands)


Material from and about the Caribbean (including Belize, Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana) should receive priority treatment.


University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.