Skip to main content

Aleph@UF: Cataloging Cheat Sheet, HSCL

Cataloging procedures and policies

Last update by Greg Allen, June 2019

 

Health Science Center Library
Cataloging Cheat Sheet

 

Holdings 852:2 : A, B & C fields:
For Volumes in holdings: 866 31 a v.#-#
General 856:40: fields for ebooks
Name authority fields for UF Authors:
For all Original records created:
Outline of the NLM Classification

Holdings 852:2 : A, B & C fields:

FU-HC$$bUFHHC$$cGEN == HSCL general collection

FU-HC$$bUFHHC$$cCD == HSCL CD collection

FU-HC$$bUFER$$cHC$$hCall#$$m(ONLINE) == ebook  (HSCL, VMRR, Borland)

FU-HC$$bUFHST$$cSTOR == Storage Facility

FU-HC$$bUFER$$cEJOUR == ejournal (HSCL, VMRR, Borland)

FU-HC$$bUFHVM$$cGEN == VMMR general collection

FU-HC$$bUFER$$cDB == Databases i.e. Libguides

FU-J$$bUFHJX$$cBHSL == Borland general collection

FU-HC$$bUFHMR$$cRESV – HSC Reserve

FU$$bUFER$$cSMBK$$m(ONLINE) == Smathers Ebooks

FU-HC$$bUFHHR$$cDVD == needs 590 field with copyright info.

For Volumes in holdings: 866 31 a v.#-#

ǂ5 FU  ǂu http://lib.myilibrary.com?id=291418 ǂy UF: Off-campus access limited to current UF students & employees  *** gov docs and/or open access titles i.e. NCBI bookshelf, do not need anything but the url

General 856:40: fields for ebooks  -- (ǂu will change, other fields go in all) – indicators 40 will create the ebook/journal icon. Indicators 41 or 42 will not -- For integrating resources, records that are coded Blvl=i and 007 $a c $b r, or Blvl=i and 856 $u http and 245 $h [electronic resources], or Blvl=i AND (338 $a online resource or 338 $b cr) should trigger a new e-icon with the label "online resource."

  1. To generate e-book icon, using either one of the following combinations:

    1. Blvl=m AND 007 $a c $b r

    2. Blvl=m AND 856 $u http AND 245 $h [electronic resources] (Pre RDA cataloging)

    3. Blvl=m AND (338 $a online resource or 338 $b cr)

  1. To generate e-journal icon, using either one of the following combinations:

    1. Blvl=s AND 007 $a c $b r

    2. Blvl=s AND 856 $u http AND 245 $h [electronic resources]

    3. Blvl=s AND (338 $a online resource or 338 $b cr)

Name authority fields for UF Authors:

796 1 Overman, Allen R. ǂd 1937- ǂu University of Florida ǂ5 FU

797 12 UF Health Science Center Authors Collection ǂ5 FU

UF Author url: 

850 40 ǂu http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/tools/endowments/HSCL_authors.jpg ǂx contributor #y Part of the UF Health Science Center Authors Collection ǂ5 FU

List of words that exclude the e-icon are on our LibGuide at: How to delete an erroneous eBook or eJournal icon from MANGO

Gift url:

856 40 ǂy  Gift to the UF Health Science Center Library by Dr. Guy I. Benrubi ǂu http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/Tools/bookplate/HSCL/donor.htm?donor=Dr. Guy I. Benrub |x gift

In Memory of  url:

856:40: ǂu  http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/Tools/bookplate/HSCL/donor.htm?donor= For Dean Glen Hoffsis for his service as Dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine ǂx gift ǂy For Dean Glen Hoffsis for his service as Dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine

Donations url:

|y Gift to the UF Health Science Center Library by NAME OF DONOR or WHO IN HONOR OF |u http://www.uflib.ufl.edu/Tools/bookplate/HSCL/donor.htm?donor= DONORS NAME   |x gift

or Series Analytics:

856:42:#y Click HERE for additional titles in series #u https://uf.catalog.fcla.edu/uf.jsp?st=new+directions+for+philanthropic+fundraising&ix=si&S=1681561482492587&fl=bo #x test

For all Original records created:

The following MARC 588 field (Source of Description Note) is added to new records contributed to WorldCat. It has not been added retrospectively to University of Florida original records in WorldCat.

This bibliographic record is available under the Creative Commons CC0 public domain dedication. The University of Florida Libraries, as creator of this bibliographic record, has waived all rights to it worldwide under copyright law, including all related and neighboring rights, to the extent allowed by law.

_______________________________________________________________

NEW CATALOGING STANDARDS FOR SHARED BIB: Docs.google.com/document

________________________________________________________________

HSCL Consumer Health Graphic Novels:

BIB Rec: 590 __#a Shelved in the HSC Library Consumer Health Collection #5 FU

Holdings Rec: (in the 852) #z Shelved in the HSC Library Consumer Health Collection.

Item Rec: (in the Description box) Shelved in the HSC Library Consumer Health Collection

Outline of the NLM Classification

Preclinical Sciences

Medicine and Related Subjects

 

University of Florida Home Page

This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.